Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

South Central Minnesota Regional Information

MnDOT District 7

About District

District 7 serves 13 rural Minnesota counties that are strong in agriculture:

  • Blue Earth
  • Brown
  • Cottonwood
  • Faribault
  • Jackson
  • Le Sueur
  • Martin
  • Nicollet
  • Nobles
  • Rock
  • Sibley
  • Waseca
  • Watonwan


District 7 headquarters are located in Mankato, with a second office stationed in Windom for efficient highway services and improved access to MnDOT's customers. Twenty truck stations staffed with experienced maintenance crews are strategically located throughout the District.

Services provided by District 7 include the planning, design, construction and maintenance of the state and federal highway system and aid/assistance to the county and city systems qualified for state and federal dollars. Transit, trail and rail coordination is also provided by District 7. Through a multitude of partnerships with local governments, agencies and the public, District 7 works to provide the citizens of Minnesota with a coordinated transportation system that meets their needs.

District employees are skilled in engineering, snow and ice control, traffic, land acquisition, business, planning and much more. The people who work for MnDOT District 7 are dedicated and proud of the services they perform for travelers in Greater Minnesota. Each employee plays an important role in the safety and efficiency of Minnesota's transportation system. In recent years, District 7 employees have become a valued disaster response team — handling floods, tornadoes, mudslides and the severest winter storms to ensure safe transportation in southern Minnesota.

If you are interested in public involvement with our transportation projects, please go to District 7’s Area Transportation Partnership page for more information.

District 7 supports

  • 1,326 miles of State and Federal Highway
  • 146 miles of Interstate (90)
  • 476 bridges
  • 13 County and 8 City State-Aid System
  • 492 miles of rail line
  • 14 airports
  • 13 counties covered with transit systems
  • 10 Rest Areas for traveler safety (1 with a Travel Information Center)
  • 487 Adopt-A-Highway Groups keep nearly 90% of the highways clean
  • Bicycle/pedestrian trails

See the fact sheet (PDF 156 KB).